RSS Feed

Orchard: Past, Present, and Future

Our house sits right in the middle of a long, narrow lot, leaving about two and a half acres in front and the same amount behind. When we moved here in 2014, there were just three trees in the front yard: a small pretty black cherry tree and two tall hackberry trees. We decided that the large grassy area would be an ideal place to start an orchard.

Last spring, we planted two Montmorency cherry trees, an Elberta peach tree, and a Red Haven peach tree. A little later, we got two blueberry bushes (Sunshine and Blueray), several blackberry bushes (Apache and Navaho), about five Nantahala red raspberry bushes, and a Concord grape vine.

And then I accidentally ran over one of the blueberry bushes with the mower. Oops. I hope it will survive. The heavy and constant rains of last summer may have killed one of the cherry trees; it didn’t look very good at the end of the season, so we’ll keep an eye on that one, too.

This next spring, I hope to plant apple trees (Freedom, Liberty, and Enterprise), and plum trees. Perhaps a couple of pear trees, some apricot trees, and more berry bushes. Maybe I’ll expand the strawberry patch as well.

I’m trying to keep track of the types of trees and bushes we plant, but I’m afraid I don’t recall which blueberry bush is which, and I think I may have gotten the blackberry bushes mixed up. We have quite a few extra bricks around here, and I’ve been considering painting the names of the plants on the bricks and then placing the bricks by each tree or bush.

I just hope that when the trees are mature, I won’t lose the beautiful sunrise view.

sunrise

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Orchard: Past, Present, and Future | oldfangled – WORLD ORGANIC NEWS

Leave a Reply

