RSS Feed

Deadline

Last week, I got up and found that the house was pretty chilly. When I checked the thermostat, it read 60 degrees. I was sure that I hadn’t set it lower than 62, but I checked anyway. Nope, it was set at 63, just as I had thought. Concerned, I bumped the temperature up to 65. Nothing happened. I turned the thermostat off, then back on again. The furnace kicked on, called for heat, and then promptly shut off. I tried again and got the same results.

Well, crud.

I left a note for Husband who was still asleep when I left for work (and I piled more blankets on top of him since it was 59 degrees in the house by the time I departed), and he called the repairman. The igniter was cracked, and that was about a $350 fix. The repairman mentioned that the motor is really loud, and that at some point we should consider replacing it as well. Husband asked, “Will it last five more years?” Probably, he was told.

So, the furnace has about five years left in it. The septic tank has about five years left. The windows get condensation on them in the spring and fall, and that turns to ice when the weather gets really cold. There’s mold under the house, and on the last really windy day, several shingles came off the roof.

This house is falling apart.

And we knew that when we bought it, but becomes more and more obvious as time passes. The circumstances give us a big push to get started.

We’ve got a deadline.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. I work better with a deadline – but you’d probably just as soon not have this kind of deadline!

    Reply
  2. That’s a lot to save up for. Hopefully some of the things will have a longer deadline!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

