RSS Feed

These days

These days, I hate running.  Or at least, I hate the idea of running.  The feet pounding on the pavement, the slow pace at which the scenery changes.  I used to love this.  And if I go out and just do it, it’s okay.  But it does not beckon my like it used to.

A shiny new birthday bike sits on the back porch, promising speed and wind in my hair.  Riding it provides things running cannot:  legs pumping, but providing a smooth experience; the click of gears shifting into place, my legs work a little harder, a little easier.  No longer am I bound to a mere three miles of scenery.  Now, my limits are doubled, tripled.  I can rid out of my neighborhood.  I can view distant vistas!

These days, the running shoes sit forlornly in the closet, but the bicycle gets a lot of use.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I haven’t ridden my bike in months. I should get it out there again!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

