RSS Feed

The Progress of the First-Year Garden

Posted on

Today, I put up two quarts of squash and two quarts of beans.

The corn has little bitty ears on it.

There are tiny cucumbers and teeny watermelons and itty bitty cantaloupes. Even a couple of decent sized pumpkins that we didn’t plant. (The pumpkins we did plant aren’t doing as well.)

But next year, we’ll mark things better. ‘Cause this year, we didn’t mark them and we keep saying to each other, “Do you think this is kohlrabi? Is this kale? Did the beets not come up at all?” And we’ll need to be diligent about weeding next year, too. It’s sometimes hard to find the beans growing in the midst of all the grass.

Still, considering it’s a first-year garden, four quarts of vegetables (plus all those we’ve already eaten) isn’t too bad for the first of August. (Not to mention the seven quarts of black raspberries I put up earlier this summer.)

But next year, I hope it will be better.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. It’s a lot easier at our house – we only ever plant tomatoes. Ha! I think we might have a volunteer pepper plant, but I’m not sure. And we have a volunteer sunflower. But that’s it.

    Reply
  2. After all my efforts to grow sunflowers this year, the only ones that have bloomed so far are the volunteers I got from where the birdseed dropped to the ground.

    Reply
  3. Karen, just realized we don’t have an email for you or Stephan. I wanted to pass along an interesting show on youtube from the BBC. This particular episode is all about building in the boonies, using mostly local materials, etc. Anyway, here’s the link: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tN6W-Fupkow

    Reply

Leave a Reply

