RSS Feed

Moving Day

Posted on

As I mentioned, we’ve had a lot of rain this month.  A lot.  And it flooded our barn.

SONY DSC

We put the rabbits in cages and elevated them, so they were okay, but the chicken coop was just yucky, even though the chickens were on the upper level.  Plus, we couldn’t really give them an outdoor yard with all the water around the barn.  Husband suggested we move them to the pool shed.

SONY DSC

Remember our pool?  Bleh.

SONY DSC

It does have a BUNCH of tadpoles, though.  Look at that!  Hundreds!  And we have one big green frog and two smaller brown toads that live in the pool and make beautiful croaky music.

SONY DSC

This shed is in the pool area.  Previous owners had used it as a changing area for family and friends.  There are little hooks inside with names above them.  Cute idea!  If we ever do have a pool, I might do that.

But right now, we needed a space for the chickens, and when Husband suggested it, I agreed that it was a great idea.  The first thing was to move the door.  We didn’t want to have to go through the pool area to get to the chickens, so the door had to go on the opposite side.  I wondered about spinning the shed around, but we decided we’d have to have heavy equipment to do that, and it would be easier to move the door.  I did a lot of measuring and marking, and then Husband came out with the power tools (which kind of scare me) and did the cutting.

SONY DSC

See!  A door on the outside of the shed.  (The hole we cut for the door is leaning against the shed.

I stapled chicken wire over the hole where the door was.  Now the chickens have a nice big window which will give them much more sunshine and fresh air than they had in their other coop.

Our rooster, Foghorn (he’s a Leghorn), fussed at us a lot when we started moving the hens over to the new place.  He is very protective of his flock.  But once we got them all there, they seemed pretty happy.

SONY DSC

Don’t they look happy?

SONY DSC

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I love chickens – and yes they DO look happy. I also love how you guys get an idea & then just DO it!

    Reply
  2. Happy move, indeed. Thank you for the photos.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

