RSS Feed

A Race for the Ripe Ones

Posted on

I nearly got into a fistfight with a Daddy-Long-Legs today.

Let me explain.

The wild raspberries are ripening! I discovered them last week and in three pickings have gotten about three quarts of berries. Picking wild raspberries is not for the faint of heart. One must fight mosquitoes, thorns, and those Daddy-Long-Legs. Did you know that Daddy-Long-Legs love raspberries? As I look for the berries, I find the spiders (that apparently aren’t really spiders) all over the berries, munching away. If I can brush them off in time, the berries are still good enough to pick. If the spiders-that-aren’t-spiders have been there a while, though, the berry is obviously chewed and pretty yucky looking.

Sometimes there are four or five Daddy-Long-Legs on one little raspberry. I generally pass that one by.

Those little spiders (why AREN’T they spiders?) are tenacious, too. Sometimes you can’t brush them off or shake them off – they are very intent on eating that raspberry.

Hence the fistfight.

Well, I suppose there are enough for all of us. I do wish, though, that the Daddy-Long-Legs would be content with the berries way back that are hard for me to reach, instead of leaving those alone in favor of devouring the ones that are more easily accessible.

I wear long sleeves and long pants to protect against thorns and mosquitoes. But it’s amazing how a little Daddy-Long-Legs can give a grown woman the heebie-jeebies sometimes.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

