RSS Feed

Memorial Day Weekend

Posted on

Memorial Day weekend was busy with get-togethers with both our families. In the time I had at home, I wanted to get some things accomplished in the yard and in the house. There is so much still to do, and Saturday morning I kind of wandered around, feeling unable to keep my attention on any one thing. Nonetheless, I managed to get a lot done around the place. I mowed, helped Husband plant all the garden seeds we have (we still want to get carrot seeds and tomato plants), moved all the stuff that we’d stacked on the outside of the pool fence (I mostly just tossed it over the fence – the pool area is a wreck anyway, and at least the fence hides it), cleared out some weeds and small scraggly trees from a couple of places (and got some crazy poison ivy in the process for which I since have been prescribed Prednizone), moved a bunch of river rock and landscape timbers, did several loads of laundry, and cleaned the house.

I foresee a busy summer, but I also think this place is going to really shape up in the next couple of months!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I enjoy and appreciate your enthusiasm and eagerness to fix up your “farm”.
    But makes me realize I may sadly be past that stage of excitement about making improvements to our land.

    Reply
  2. We went to NC – drove down on Memorial Day & back yesterday. I would love to take a few days off of work to just putter around the house & get things done, but frankly I spend so much time on the computer that I’m not sure how productive I would be. Ha!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

