RSS Feed

Outhouse, Part 2 (finally!)

Posted on

Negligent, that’s me. The outhouse has been finished for weeks, and I still haven’t given you part two of the process.

Perhaps I should not attempt to write series. I’m too inconsistent a blogger.

Anyway, here it is.

Husband finished putting the siding on. He took apart wooden pallets and put the slats on the sides. He thought about painting it, but I preferred the natural, weathered look.

SONY DSC

On the back is the hatch to remove the waste. Husband put a door on it later, but I forgot to take a picture of that.

SONY DSC

Finally, he painted the door and put that on. I wanted a bright yellow door with a blue moon. We decided not to cut the moon into the door because it’s a pretty nice door, so he cut out a crescent moon out of another piece of wood and screwed it into the door. Because every outhouse has to have a crescent moon. I don’t know why, but it does.

SONY DSC

We decided to put the outhouse near the woods – far enough back to be slightly secluded, but not so far as to be inaccessible. The bright yellow door shines out from the dark green of the woods.

Inside it’s perfectly functional.

SONY DSC

I like it.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. i know what ya mean about promising a sequel or series. I’ve failed a few times.
    But I enjoyed this Part 2.
    Didn’t know about crescent moons on outhouses.
    Yours is the best looking outhouse I know!

    Reply
  2. I love it! That yellow door & moon are perfect. I think you have to have a moon on there because when you use the facility you’re mooning the outhouse. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

