RSS Feed

The inspiration of spring

Posted on

The grass has turned green and the leaves are coming out on the trees.  Husband thinks the trees will be all leafed out in a week, but I think it will be two.  Anyway, it definitely looks like spring,  and it feels like it too, with warm temperatures, sunshine on some days and rainshowers or thunderstorms on others.  Forsythia bushes are turning yellow and pink magnolia trees are blooming.  Daffodils have been out for a while, and yesterday I saw some little white flowers in the back yard near the woods.  The grass is getting so long that mowing would be a good idea if I didn’t believe that The Beast would certainly get stuck in the very wet earth.

I decided I have two major home goals for this spring and summer.  First is to clean up the yard of all the junk lying around so that the place looks nicer.  When we moved, there was so much to do that a lot of things just got piled (or sometimes tossed) behind the barn or next to the fence, and that it where it has stayed for almost a year.  I want to take care of that this spring.  The second goal is to purge our belongings from the house and get rid of all the stuff we don’t really need or use.  Clothes, books, movies, kitchen supplies — nothing is safe!  If we plan to move into a tiny house, even if it’s just for a few months, then we need to get rid of some stuff.  Already I have combed through the bookshelves and piled onto the bed a lot of books that I don’t want or need.  I’ve been sorting through clothes for a while, making a pile of items I haven’t worn in at least a year or that I know I’m unlikely to wear again.  The cookbooks are next on the list.  (We own dozens and use a small fraction of them, especially now that recipes can so easily be found online.)

Spring always brings the feeling of newness and the desire to clean and make everything seem as fresh inside as it is outside.  I am inspired!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Oh boy I really need to purge! Especially clothes. I got rid of a lot of things a few years ago, but for some reason it seems to have reaccumulated. (Which is apparently not a word, but I like it so it’s staying. And yes I DO know you teach English. Ha!)

    Reply
  2. Purging is painful but also freeing. I have a hard time letting go of books though 🙂 Right now 95% of our books are out in Sta. Rosa (since we took the bookshelves out there, it made sense to take the books too) and I rotate books back and forth just about every time we go out there. I have learned to live with a lot less since moving into our 395 square foot casita, but if I were building a tiny house I would definitely go with a little higher ceiling so I could put a couple rows of bookshelves up along the top. That way we wouldn’t have bookshelves taking up valuable floor space, but I could still have my books at hand.

    Have y’all chosen a floor plan/design for your tiny house? I have seen some really clever space saving ideas out there. I get updates right to my email from Tiny House Swoon, and it’s amazing what people can do with small spaces.

    Reply
    • We purchased a plan when we went to a Tiny House workshop, but we got it mainly for the basics of electrical, plumbing, structure, etc. Husband wants to design the tiny house himself, and he’s made some drawings. It will be a while before we make any definite decisions.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

