RSS Feed

The Saga of the Driveway

Posted on

We knew when we moved here last July that the driveway needed gravel. But there were a lot of other things that took priority.

As the winter progressed and then spring started to come, the driveway got worse. Ruts turned into big ruts and filled with water. Low spots became puddles. Mud was everywhere. At last, it was time. The man of the house called a gravel company to come out. They estimated the need for 72 tons of gravel.

The Gravel Guy came with his first load (about 25 tons) on a Tuesday. He dumped it and said he was having trouble spreading it out because the gravel was still frozen together. I drove slowly over the uneven aggregate, aiming the car carefully over hills and piles and then back into low spots.

On Wednesday, Gravel Guy returned with a full gravel truck. And he slid off the muddy driveway. He got back on track, and then slid off again and got stuck in the muddy strip between our drive and the neighbor’s. A concrete truck came to pull Gravel Guy out of his predicament, but could not do so because the gravel truck was still full of its product.

Remember how I mentioned ruts? What was there before was nothing compared to what was there after. If WordPress would upload my photos, I would show you.  However, since I get upload error every time I try, let me paint a picture for you.  Imagine a deep gouge in the grassy area next to the driveway.  Imagine it at least ankle-deep, at a 45 degree angle to the drive.  Imagine it filling with rainwater.

The gravel that Gravel Guy brought is mired down into the mud. It doesn’t exactly lie in the confines of the original driveway.

Now, I would have thought a guy who knows the gravel business might have looked at the driveway first and made some recommendations. Like “This is awfully wet and I suggest we wait until the ground dries.” Like “I think you could use a better base layer of large gravel before we put down the smaller stuff.” Like anything but making the driveway worse than it was in the first place.

Gravel Guy told the man of the house that he didn’t want to come back until things had dried out, but he made him a deal. In the future, he’ll bring the gravel but charge just for the aggregate and not for the hauling.

In the meantime, it is Mud City out here.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. What a mess! And yes, you would expect the Gravel Guy to be the subject matter expert here!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

