RSS Feed

Rabbits in the barn

SONY DSCThe rabbits are doing fine in their little colony.  Just after Thanksgiving, I had put a bale and a half of straw in for them, thinking that it would help them keep warm and give them places to burrow.  It also got trampled and soaked, so with the husband’s help, I removed all the wet straw and tossed what was left to get fresh straw from the bottom up to the top.  So far, the winter has not been very cold, so they probably don’t need extra places to burrow.  I don’t think I’ll put that much straw in again — it was really hard to move it around once it got trampled.  I think we’ll stick to one bale, maximum.

SONY DSCBrownie, the youngest (on the left) is doing fine.  Stephan still has his job to do of determining its gender.  One of the blondes and one of the blacks will probably become stew meat in the relatively near future — as soon as life slows down for the one who takes care of those things.  (Not me.)

The most tedious part of having the rabbits out in the barn (as opposed to in the garage right next to the house, as they were in our old house in town) is walking out to take care of them.  At the other place, I checked on them before and after work, because I parked right next to them.  Now it takes more of an effort.  It would be a little easier if we had water run out to the barn; now we bring water bottles to the house to fill them, and then take them to the barn to swap them with empty or frozen bottles.  We have plenty of extras, though, so it’s not too bad.  Getting water out there is not a priority.

What is a priority (a job for the spring) is getting the floor of the loft fixed so that we can move extra cages and other supplies upstairs and have more room downstairs.  Our chicken coop will be adjacent to the rabbit barn, and we’ll need more room for their supplies.  Also, we hope to include a run for the rabbits so they can be outside sometimes.

For now though everyone seems to be pretty happy in the colony.  I mean, as much as you can tell with rabbits, anyway.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

