RSS Feed

Decorating for Christmas

I’ve been trying to put up Christmas decorations. I don’t even know where to begin. After living thirteen years in the same house, I had a routine and a system. Stockings hung from the stairs, Nativities went on the sideboard, and a tiny Christmas village made from a hodgepodge of ornaments went in the bathroom.

Now, with a new house and a new kitten who gets into everything, I don’t know where to put decorations. Stockings can’t hang on the stairs because there are no stairs. The sideboard is now occupied with cookbooks, and the bathroom has no extra shelf space. The small stained glass suncatchers can’t go on the window because Nova will attack them. We haven’t made a definite decision about getting a tree, but I don’t know where we’d put it. Heck, with our cat’s penchant for chewing and tearing paper, I’m not even sure where to put the presents!

There are a few ornaments hanging from the light fixture above the dining table. A couple of Nativities are in the living room, along with some tiny artificial trees. I put a small Santa welcome sign on the back door (where everyone enters) and the “Merry ChristMoose” sign from my mother-in-law is on the back porch as well. This summer, when we were clearing the woods of invasive wild grapevine, I made a few wreaths, and one of those is now wrapped with lights. Stephan promised to figure out how to hang it on the front of the house. Once it’s hung, I’ll add a big red bow that I bought from Big Lots weeks ago.

I’d really like to go all out with decorations at this place. Not just for Christmas, but in the coming spring and next fall as well. I’m not sure why; I think it’s because this property has been neglected for so long, and the evidence of that is everywhere – from the muddy, rutted driveway to the barn that needs paint to the utter lack flowers out here. I want to show that this is our place and we love it. We care enough about it to show it off to people.

Maybe not this year. We’re doing what we can, but it will take me a while to get into a Christmas rhythm of knowing where decorations go and how to put lights on the house. Maybe in a year or two, Dove’s Crossing will look more like the Christmas wonderland that I imagine.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. There’s always a learning curve with a new place — from figuring out where to store things you don’t want on display, to how to arrange the furniture in each room, to decorating for the holidays. Your kitten adds a whole new wrinkle to the equation 🙂

    Our place is so small we didn’t have a tree at all the first year. Last year I cleared a space on the desk-that-serves-as-a-nightstand and had a little table-top tree. This year I’ve decided some furniture will have to be temporarily relocated to the garage so I can have my regular sized tree 🙂

    Reply
  2. Maybe by next year Nova will be less interested in eating paper 🙂

    Reply
  3. I still can’t get over the fact you decorated your bathroom. That’s dedication!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

