RSS Feed

It’s only November

It’s only November, but I’m thinking of spring.

We need to gravel the driveway. With each rain or melting snowfall, the drive becomes more and more two muddy ruts.

I hope to plant at least two fruit trees in the spring. Cherry and pear are at the top of the list. I need to find a good nursery.

Already, I’m eager for seed catalogs to arrive. To be honest, we usually get our seeds from Rural King or other local retailers. But I like to browse to see what I might like. I already have a list going, and it includes lettuce, cabbage, peas, green beans, broccoli, cauliflower, three kinds of peppers, sweet potatoes, red potatoes, carrots, beets, tomatoes, yellow squash, and zucchini. There were onions and pumpkin seeds in our compost, so perhaps we won’t need to plant either of those. I’d also like to plant basil and cilantro, and maybe some chives.

My mom has promised me strawberry plants, and my husband has promised me a strawberry patch, so that’s on the list of things to do as well.

This place could benefit from some flowers. I want to focus on plants native to this area, and I need to figure out where to get what I want. Coneflowers, Back-eyed Susans, Sunflowers, and Butterfly Weed for the open areas, and maybe Columbine, Bloodroot, Irises,and Larkspur for the wooded areas.

Before the summer is too far gone, I’ll need to get out my canning and freezing supplies to make sure they are in good condition and that I have plenty of what I’ll need. I’m also considering buying a food dehydrator. (Won’t dried cherries be nice?)

We’d like to install a composting outhouse and perhaps an outdoor shower for all our summer activities, and I’d like to get a volleyball net up.

So how will I fill my winter while waiting for spring?  Researching and reading about fruit trees, gardening, and raising chickens.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. My dad loves his food dehydrator. He was telling me that the apples were MUCH better than when he was a child & they put the fruit on the roof for drying. Fewer flies. Eww!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

