RSS Feed

Hiccups

Remember our plan to build a cute little cottage?  Well, the building commissioner informed us that we are allowed only one residence and two outbuildings on our property.  So in order to build a little cottage, we must apply for a variance.  That involves seven copies of this and seven copies of that, and documents and notices sent by certified mail to each adjacent property owner, plus an application to the zoning board and a notice in the newspaper.  And if we’re approved, we must begin construction within just a couple of months, which means that we’d have to have the money saved before we even start the process.

In the meantime, we’ve got to get a septic line at our old house replaced so that the offer we’ve accepted can go through.  And at the new place, a water line must be run from the house to the shop so that the Ice Man has the water to make the ice.  Plus we probably need to get a reverse osmosis machine because the well water is so hard and rusty that it isn’t making clear carving blocks.

The pipe with which to extend the chimney just arrived, and we hope to get that in place soon so we can begin heating with wood more than with propane.

It also would be really good if we could figure out how to keep the rabbits’ water warm this winter so we don’t have to go out two or three times a day to switch out frozen water bottles.

Hiccups?  Nay, call them adventures!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. When I was a kid my parents tried to get approval to put a house trailer behind our house so my widowed grandfather could live there. We lived out in the country so I’m actually surprised that there was a “ruling body” to make such a decision. I understand the purpose, but very annoying!

    Our water has a lot of minerals in it (I guess – leaves a yellow residue that hardens & is impossible to remove). We rent so I’ve never seriously considered doing anything about it. But we don’t plan on moving anytime soon, so perhaps I should…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

