RSS Feed

Adjustments

Finally, the well is working.  It took longer than expected, but the water is working and has been bleached, so I think it’s safe to assume the e coli is dead and gone.

However, I’m having a hard time getting used to the taste of well water.  I’ve been drinking city water for about 25 years now, and well water just tastes weird to me.  I am happy using it for my tea, and the hubs mixed it in some frozen juice concentrate last week which was fine.  But just to drink a glass of it is something that is going to take me a while.

Not for Stephan, though.  He thinks it tastes fine.  In fact, he’s so happy about not having to pay for water and sewer out here that he says the well water “tastes like freedom.”  The other day, he asked me to get him another glass of freedom.  I probably rolled my eyes.

I’m also having to get used to the rabbits being in a place that isn’t attached to the house and where I do not enter every day as a matter of course.  When the rabbits were in the garage, and I was in the garage twice a day almost every day, it was hard to forget about them.  But because they are out of sight, they really are out of mind for me.  Thankfully, Stephan usually remembers them and is doing a good job of watching out for them.

Living five miles from our previous place might not seem like a big deal, but we feel like we are so much farther away from everything now.  Once I get home from work, I don’t want to go out again.  I used to be able to drive to the Dollar General in about two minutes to pick up something we needed right away, but that is no longer the case.  “Going into town” feels like a much bigger trip than it ever did.  Maybe, however, it isn’t because of our location but because of our surroundings.  We love it so much out here — the open sky, the perpetual breeze — that leaving is not desirable.

I went running with a friend this morning, and we could smell autumn in the air.  It will be interesting to see what our place looks like as the leaves turn and fall.  I hope the woods behind us is as beautiful as I imagine it will be, with reds and oranges and yellows filling my vision.  And when those leaves fall, I hope to see beautiful sunsets beyond the trees. 

It is a pleasure living here.  It is a lot of work and a lot of adjustment, but it is still a pleasure.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

