RSS Feed

Pests

My parents came to visit a couple of weeks ago, and my dad pointed out a big hornets’ nest on the northeast corner of our house.  He said he’d leave it alone until the weather got colder and the hornets were not as active.

Earlier this week, when my father-in-law saw it, he had different advice.  “That’s a job for the professionals,” he said.

We remembered that a guy had come by the house several weeks back, saying he was in pest control, and offering his services three times a year in return for the hay on our front two acres.  I didn’t think much of it, because I’ve never used pest control services before and didn’t intend to.  But after pondering that big hornets’ nest, we reconsidered.

SONY DSCOkay, make that a huge hornets’ nest.  (You know it’s huge when the pest control expert sees it and says, “Holy cow!”)

This was not the only reason we thought maybe we’d call him, though.  Monday night, we got a big downpour of rain, and that rain flushed out a ground nest of yellow jackets right by our back door (the door we use for entering and exiting).  We thought maybe we’d just take care of that ourselves, and then Stephan had an interesting experience, and I wish I could show you the video he put on Facebook.  Basically, some underground animal (a mole, perhaps) dug around near the yellow jackets’ nest.  This, of course agitated the little stingers.  About ten minutes later, the mole must have really gotten close and the yellow jackets were swarming and buzzing like crazy.  Stephan could see the ground moving and mounding up, and the yellow jackets were exceedingly angry.  Later, the ground had stopped moving and Stephan speculated that the bees stung the mole to death. 

Yikes.

Life in the country!

Anyway, the pest control guy is here now, and I saw him spraying the hornets’ nest with something.  I suspect he has taken care of the yellow jackets, too.  And my hope is that all we have to give him is our next cutting of hay.  (I love the barter system.)

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Saw that video on facebook. I’d have been FREAKING OUT! haha

    I love the barter system too, and it’s so cool that you can trade like that. Yeah farm life!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

