RSS Feed

We’re not dead yet.

Posted on

We are surviving country life.

The dogs get to run around, the cat is enjoying her new home, and the rabbits, who now live in a colony instead of separate cages (more on that in a later post, I hope), seem more active.  The washer and dryer, moved into the house last Monday by the hubs and a young friend of ours, finally got hooked up yesterday (leaky connections followed by husband’s trip out of town for work delayed the process) and I’ve spend the last two days doing loads and loads of laundry.  The plumbing, which now works, provides us with water for washing, but not for drinking.  My father-in-law wisely recommended we have it tested prior to drinking it. 

The result was everyone’s favorite vomit-inducing bacteria: e coli. 

So now we need to treat the well… only first we have to find the well.  There was a diagram in the bathroom, but there is nothing that sticks up out of the ground or anything so it’s not obvious.

There is still much to do at the other house — moving some items out, doing minor repairs, and cleaning.  My mother-in-law came Saturday and helped me clean the upstairs.  We have a date for next Saturday to work on the basement.  (Bleh.  I have always hated that basement.  I am hopeful that with her company and thoroughness will make it a less painful task.)

We spoke to a Realtor at our church this morning.  We hope to have him over to look at the place in the next week or so.  Once we have the stuff moved out and the house cleaned, we will put it on the market.

Meanwhile, school begins in two weeks so my mind is thinking less of the moving process and more about teaching and planning and organizing my classroom.  I was stressing out last week about everything that needs to be done, and I felt like God was telling me, “You don’t have to do it all yourself.”  And I don’t really know what that means, but I’m trying to trust that it is true and that I need not worry.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. My husband used to be in the well drilling business – I asked him if you could use a dowser to find the well & he said “possibly.” So, with that “iron-clad” assurance, I recommend you try to find someone to dowse for the well. Ha!

    Reply
    • Stephan actually found it. But the well guys want a lot of money to chlorinate it and to add an adapter so that we don’t have to dig it up to access it. ($1200 – $1400) So Stephan’s going to watch YouTube videos to try to figure it out himself.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

