RSS Feed

Update on Craziness

Posted on

SONY DSCI get to see these horses each day.  Lucky Ivan, Mr. Ed, and always a third one (sometimes it’s Always Wearable, and sometimes it’s G.D. Whattaguy.)  Sometimes they run through their pasture.  Sometimes, when I walk out to get the mail, they follow me, hoping for nose rubs and carrots.  (I give them the nose rubs.)

SONY DSCThis little thing is a new addition to our family.  Her name is Nova.  Our niece had found the kitten and wanted to find it a good home instead of taking it to the pound.  I figured, what’s a farm without a cat?  So I picked her up.  She and the dogs are a little uncertain of each other, but they are learning to get along.

Life in general feels insane.  We’ve been living at Dove’s Crossing for almost a week now, but one or both of us has been back at our other house every day.  There is still a little furniture to move, and a lot of cleaning to do.  We also need to paint inside in order to get it ready for sale.  And clean out the basement, which I am really not looking forward to.

Stuff at the new house is everywhere.  I made a supreme effort to clean up the kitchen the other day so that there is one room that isn’t chaotic.  That made me feel better.  I’m hoping to get art on the walls this weekend.  And I’m trying to plug away on the rest of the house a little at a time.

Last night I dreamed that I was out somewhere and had to kayak to get back home.  The river rose really quickly, and the kayak became hard to control.  Then I hit some rapids, and feared I would capsize.  I began to yell, “Help!  Help!”  Thankfully, someone rescued me.  I woke up and immediately knew that this is how I feel right now.  I am out of control and fear I may drown.  There is too much.  Organizing the new house, cleaning and painting the old house, and preparing for school which starts again in less than a month.  Deep breaths are needed.

Right now, it is all too much.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Just came back from a brisk walk to the mailbox. Yours must be about as far away as ours now. Can’t wait to see your settling-in progress. However, will have to wait 😦 , tonight is board meeting.

    Reply
  2. I’ve got the “One Day at a Time Sweet Jesus” song in my head – you’ll get there eventually!

    Reply
    • Thanks for the encouragement. I am not sure I know that song, but I’m going to have to find it. It sounds like exactly what I need to have in my head right now!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

