RSS Feed

It Has a Name

Posted on

SONY DSC

Ever since I read Anne of Green Gables, I’ve wanted to name my home. Nothing ever really stuck for the place where we live now. But now that we own two properties (hopefully for a limited time only), it has become awkward to say “the other house” or “the old house” and “the new place.” Our new property has been named:

Doves’ Crossing

I got the idea from a book I was reading, and I thought it fit.  The dove signifies peace, and we want our home to be a place of peace.  We also want to continue our tradition of hospitality, and this place is a great piece of property on which to do that.  So the word “crossing” represents the intersection of many people.

I look forward to having lots of people over and watching them swim, shoot hoops, play volleyball or horseshoes, hike in the woods, and play soccer and Frisbee in all the open areas.  We had family and close friends over last night, and I enjoyed seeing just a small portion of that (there was basketball and Frisbee and some hiking… and Stephan slid into the pool as he was adjusting the pump he was using to get out all the brackish rainwater — praise God he was not electrocuted by the plug that slid in with him!  I’m also thankful I didn’t know about the danger of that plug until after it was already disconnected).  It was so much fun seeing people enjoy our property, even though we can’t live in the house and we had to shoo the little ones away from the pool (we should have that fence finished this week, though!)  I hope our property will be a place where our friends can interact with others and experience peace as well.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Dove’s Crossing is a great name!

    Reply
  2. Camping at DC tomorrow night!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

