RSS Feed

Fruit of the Land

Posted on

SONY DSC

Today I went out to the new place. I moved a few things over (a small desk, a plant, and some bird feeders and bird food), plus I started removing the decking around the pool. Besides being completely overgrown with six-foot-tall thistles, the decking itself is in poor shape. While pool decking isn’t really high on the priority list, we need to work on things right now that don’t require much money. I don’t get paid in the summer, and we used a good deal of our savings on the down payment — not what Dave Ramsey would have us do, but it seemed to be what God would have us do, and God trumps Dave Ramsey. Anyway, I found myself in need of a bathroom, but since we haven’t figured out the water situation there yet, there is no working plumbing. So, off to the woods I went.

As I returned, I noticed some nice ripe black raspberries on some of the bushes my father-in-law had pointed out to me when he mowed for us the other day. I thought I’d pick a few. Soon, my hands were full, so I went to the house to get a plastic bag to put them in, and returned to picking. While I worked, I noticed some huge wild strawberries. Wild strawberries have almost no flavor, but they were so pretty I couldn’t resist picking a few.

I’m excited that I can already get my very own berries from our land. It isn’t a lot, but I hope the bushes will produce more and more as the years pass. And within a year or two, I hope to plant some strawberries that actually taste good. I foresee pies! And jam! And tarts! Yum!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Those look lovely! And regardless of where things are on the list, they still have to be done, so good job!

    Reply
  2. I also do low priority chores if they cost more labor than money. The pricier things just have wait their turn. It is better than doing nothing for sure.

    I have Top Hat Blueberries, they don’t get very big. I got blueberries for 3 weeks, yum.

    Good luck with your new home and garden.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

