RSS Feed

Any Question

Posted on

Sometimes, especially at the end of the school year, if we have a little extra time in class, I’ll tell my students, “You can ask me any question you want to.  I reserve the right to refuse to answer if it’s too personal.”

They love this.  They get to see a more personal side of me than they often do.  Generally they start with questions like what pets I have or what my favorite color is.  One of them asked me how my husband proposed.

This time, a couple of students gave me scenarios to choose from.  For example, “If you had to choose between having hiccups for the rest of your life, or for the rest of your life feeling like you had to sneeze but you couldn’t, which would you choose?” and “If you had to choose between having a dozen duck-sized horses or one horse-sized duck, which would you pick?”  Strange questions.

It’s fun to see their brains work in ways that don’t have a lot to do with grammar, writing, literature, or vocabulary.  Some of them are strange people — but in a way that I like.

(For the record, I’d choose the unfulfilled sneeze and the duck-sized horses.)

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Your blog posts are so much fun to read!

    Reply
  2. I agree with both of your choices! Can you imagine cleaning up after a horse-sized duck? Horrors!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

