RSS Feed

Only those of a certain age will understand this.

Posted on

My mother-in-law was on the committee for a Poetry and Art festival in her county.  She encouraged me to participate, attend, and even teach a poetry workshop.  Because I was feeling overwhelmed with work and life at the time, I declined the teaching and the attendance, but I did write a poem.  The theme for this year’s festival was “Family Ties,” which immediately made me think of the television show from the ’80’s.  Here is my submission.  (I apologize for the huge text size and funky formatting.  I can’t figure out how to make it look better than this right now!)

 

What would we do, baby

without us?

 

Each week, we sat on our couch

looking through the window at their lives.

It was fiction, just a TV show

But maybe it was more.

 

Michael and Elise

the solid foundation for a family

(despite their hippie roots)

Singing folk songs in the kitchen

Embarrassing their children

with their evident love for each other

Showing us real marriage lasts

In spite of occasional squabbles and spats.

 

Alex thought he was so much smarter

and better

than others

Until they put him in his place

And all the teenage girls swooned over

the handsome young

time traveling

Teen Wolf

Future Business Leader of America

 

Not-so-bright Mallory

trapped in the basement

with not-so-smart Skippy

who had a snot-so-small crush on her

And we learned

that even a ditz can fix an electrical problem

If she imagines the fuse box

is her hair dryer.

 

And Jennifer…

Well, who remembers anything about Jennifer?

 

A mere TV show, yes.

But perhaps our real lives

were influenced by their

episodic tales

 

Maybe we learned

to love each other

to be hard working but humble

to focus on our strengths

to do something memorable

 

And who knows?

Maybe I wouldn’t be a Republican

If Alex P. Keaton

Hadn’t been so dreamy…

 

Sha la la la

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Ha! Isn’t it interesting that Alex ANNOYED me – and I’m a Democrat. We should do a survey 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

