RSS Feed

And I was doing so well…

Posted on

Remember my vow to try to be a 40-hour-per-week teacher?

I fell off the wagon.

I was doing quite well.   I usually kept my at-school hours to nine per day (7am to 4pm) and once in a while I’d go home a little earlier than that.  I got all my work done while I was there.  For the last three weeks or so, I’ve been super diligent and as a result I haven’t had any work to bring home with me.

And then, this week happened.  A field trip with 8th graders on Tuesday, which meant making plans for the substitute.  An assignment I didn’t plan to make for my high schoolers today, but it needed to be done and now I need to grade it.  My 7th graders had essays due today, and I’m going on a field trip with them tomorrow, and that means another set of sub plans.  Plus, I was the one planning the 7th grade trip, so I’ve had a lot of work to do for that.  I supervised another teacher’s class during my prep today because she had a doctor’s appointment she couldn’t change.  Tomorrow morning I need to get first aid kits and meds from the nurse for the field trip, and I need to make copies for the substitute for one of my classes.  When I return from the field trip, I’ll also have a stack of tests to grade.

So tonight, I brought stuff home.  I’m not sure I’ll do a lot of grading tonight (it’s Game Night at my house!) but I’m certain I will bring things home over the weekend and try to plow through the grading.

Up until now, though, life has been lovely.  I’ve read books!  I’ve walked my dogs!  I’ve gone for runs!  I’ve hung out with friends!  And I plan to do all these things again.  But I do need to play a little bit of catch-up first.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Great perspective.
    So tell me more about game night.

    Reply
  2. Weeks like that happen – but it sounds like you’re doing great. Just get back on track (which you probably already have since you wrote this last week – ha!).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

