RSS Feed

Flip It

Posted on

No, I’m not talking about real estate.  I would be terrible at trying to flip a house.  First of all, I don’t have that much capital.  Second, I don’t have construction or design skill.  Third, I have a hard enough time keeping up with my own house.

I’m talking about the mattress.  You may know that you’re supposed to flip your mattress every couple of months to keep it from wearing down and developing ruts.  But I always had the hardest time remembering which way I flipped it last time.  Is it time to flip it the short way or the long way?  I wanted to get the maximum life out of my mattress, but wasn’t sure how.

The first decision I made was to flip it when the seasons officially change.  So, the first day of spring, the first day of summer, and so on.  I don’t usually hit the actual day, but whatever weekend is closest, I take off the sheets and mattress pad and flip the mattress.  (I also flip the box springs in spring and fall.)

To keep track of whether it’s time to turn the mattress the short way or the long way, I wrote numbers in a permanent marker on each end of the mattress.

SONY DSC

When I take off the sheets and see the 4 at the top, I know I need to flip it so that the 1 is at the top.  The next quarter, the 2 will be at the top.  Easy peasy.  And this way, I know I’m doing what I can to get the longest life from my mattress.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Great suggestion.

    Reply
  2. That’s a great idea! And it just occurred to me that we haven’t flipped our mattress in a while… We have a pillow-top so it can only be flipped two ways (right? I’m having trouble visualizing it – ha!).

    Reply
    • It depends. I have a pillow-top mattress that has the pillow-top on both sides, so it can be flipped four ways. If your pillow-top is only on one side, you can probably just turn it two ways.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

