RSS Feed

Renewed Appreciation

Posted on

SONY DSC SONY DSC   They may look all sleepy and lazy in these photos, but I have a renewed appreciation for Gryffon and Gracie after this week.

Yes, I admit that not too many months ago, I’d had it up to here and I was looking to find a new home for the canines.  Dogs are a lot of work, and they bring in a lot of dirt.  They can be noisy and messy and on top of that you need to walk them and bathe them and brush them and clip their nails and treat them for fleas.

But in the wee hours of Thursday morning, something woke me.

The hubs has been out of town this week, as he is much of the time in the winter, traveling hither and yon to participate in ice carving competitions.  So when I thought I heard someone pounding on my front door at 1:30 in the morning, I froze.  I lay very still, wondering if I heard what I thought I heard, and if so, questioning why on earth was someone pounding on my door at such an hour.

Normally when I hear such things, I wake up The Man of the House and make him check it out.  But with him gone, I just lay there, tense, wondering what to do.

And then I realized something.  The dogs weren’t barking.  And I’m pretty sure that if someone was pounding on the door, the dogs would have woken up and would have barked.  And if they were barking they probably would have frightened away anyone with ill intent.

Once I realized that, I could breathe again.  And as I relaxed a bit, I thanked God that I have dogs who help me feel safer when I am alone in the house.

At that point, I recognized that as long as my husband travels a lot, I will always have a dog.  A big one.  Little yappy dogs don’t scare anyone.  I want a dog with a big, deep bark.  I’m willing to put up with the mess and the responsibility as long as I feel safe.

Thanks, dogs.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

