RSS Feed

Two Good Things

Posted on

I had a pretty tough week.  I just felt like I was doing everything wrong (whether I was or not) and like I was unable to figure out what the right things were and how to do them.

However, two good things did happen this week.

Thing One

I had to give a bunch of kids detention for missing assignments.  That’s not the good thing.  The good thing is that one parent emailed me and said, “I am aware of my son’s detention and the reason for it.  I support you in giving him detention.  I will try to be more on top of his schoolwork so this does not happen again.  If you have suggestions about how to help my son, please let me know.”  It was really wonderful to have a parent actively support me when his kid got detention!  This almost never happens.

Thing Two

I recently read a blog post about how to work just 40 hours per week as a teacher.  The author seemed to have a lot of good ideas, thought they pertained mostly to elementary school and not to middle or high school.  (I don’t have “morning work,” for instance.)  Some day soon I hope to post my own version of how to work just 40 hours per week as a teacher, but first I had to figure out how to do it!  When I taught many years ago, I almost never took work home, but that was before having to attend a billion meetings and collect data to prove that I’m doing my job.  But this week, I was determined to bring less work home — or even better, to bring no work home.  And you know what?  I did it.  I didn’t bring any work home with me during the week days, and the only thing I brought with me this weekend is my planning book because I have one little thing I need to figure out before my students go to hear a speaker on Thursday.  I graded or planned or made copies every spare minute I had while I was at school — which means, I didn’t waste any time.  Even when on hall duty this morning, I was filling out paperwork on a student who I think is being evaluated for ADD or something.  One of my co-workers said, “Are you always working?”  And I told him my plan to not take work home.  If I have to bust my tail while I’m at school, I’m okay with that as long as I don’t have to take work home.  I’m going to work harder at that for the rest of this school year so that maybe next year, I will learn how better to keep work at work so that I can have more rest and relaxation at home.

Those are my two good things.  What good things happened to you this week?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Good for you!
    Hmmmm. . . let’s see. . .
    I wrote the Worker’s Weekly in one morning instead of it dragging through a whole day.
    I found fabric for a project in one quick in-and-out stop at JoAnn’s.
    Two things that saved time for accomplishing other things.

    Reply
  2. Hmm, this week was two weeks ago for me & I don’t know if my memory goes back that far 🙂 But good for you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

