RSS Feed

Experiences in February

SONY DSCI took that photo a while back, but this is still pretty much what it looks like around here, and if you’re in the Midwest, it probably looks like this at your house, too.  Some people are grouchy about it, but Stephan loves it and I don’t mind.  It’s better than freezing rain.

So far, we’ve missed five days of school, which is at least three days fewer than every other school in our county.  (The State is waiving two of those days, so we will have to make up only three of them.)  We’ve had so many two-hour delays that I’ve lost count.   It has made teaching a challenge because it’s hard to have continuity with my lessons.  And Romeo and Juliet is taking far longer than I wanted it to.  We’re scheduled to finish it Monday.  If we don’t, I think my eighth graders and I might all kill each other, which will mean that more than six deaths will be the result of those crazy star-crossed lovers and their wacky schemes.  I like the play, but a month and a half is far too long to spend reading it.

I spent pretty much all of Friday evening and most of Saturday grading papers.  Etymology tests, 7th grade stories, and a slew of make-up work from students’ absences.  I finally got all my papers graded and grades entered into the grade book this evening.  Detailed planning for the week still has not happened.  I know what I’m doing this week; it’s just not all written down in nice, tidy plans yet.

Other things I wanted to do this weekend (but did not succeed in doing) include brushing the dogs, unloading the dishwasher, washing dishes, making the bed, vacuuming the rugs, picking up kindling from a friend’s house for our fireplace, and walking the dogs.

Things I did do include running three miles (brrr), grading all those papers (ugh), eating too much (double ugh), taking an afternoon nap (ahhhh), and watching an episode of The Mentalist (eek!)  Things I have not done enough of this winter include reading, knitting, writing, and running.  And cleaning my house.  I haven’t minded this winter, but I do look forward to spring.  I am hopeful that the new season will bring with it renewed motivation.  I mean, I think I have some somewhere.  Maybe I stuck it in a drawer, or maybe it got lost under the bed.  If you see it, send it my way, okay?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Maybe your motivation & my motivation ran off to Florida to play in the sand a while. Ha!

    I used to LOVE Etymology! In fact I really wish that my high school had offered Latin classes. I took Spanish instead. Have you seen that “origin of the English language” video making the rounds on FB? I’ll have to share it with you if you haven’t. Hilarious.

    Reply
  2. I liked the list of what you have done plenty of this winter. I think you have your priorities straight 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

