RSS Feed

Winter Mornings

SONY DSCI have fallen in love with my bed.  I do not want to leave it in the mornings.  I fear I am becoming indolent.  However, I generally keep busy when I finally get up, so perhaps my trepidation is unfounded.  Maybe my love for the coziness of flannel sheets and warm blankets is a symptom of this cold, snowy winter, when the sunshine fails to peek through my bedroom window until at least 8:00, if he comes out at all.  I think he likes his blankets, too, and so he pulls the clouds up over his head and for the next several hours, repeatedly tells himself, “Just twenty more minutes, and then I’ll get up.”

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Oh I can SO relate! And my poor husband gets really tired of me hitting the snooze button all morning. I should lose that habit, but I’m turning 50 in March – it might be too late to change 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

