RSS Feed

Extended Winter Break

I don’t think we actually managed to have a blizzard, but at least the meteorologists weren’t bluffing about the snow and cold. We got about a foot of snow on top of the eight inches we already had.  The high temperature yesterday was around -12.  School was closed Monday and Tuesday.

The hot water pipes in our kitchen froze.  Cold water runs fine, and we have hot water everywhere else in the house, just not the kitchen.  But the forecast indicates a high of 3 today, in the 20’s tomorrow, and near 40 by Saturday.

snow8

Sunday we went down to the park and Stephan and I snowshoed while the dogs played.

snow3

 

 

This is the view out my front door today:

SONY DSCPretty lovely.

Plus, I got this hat and cowl finished over the break:

SONY DSCI had planned to make a hat and scarf, but realized I didn’t have enough purple yarn, and maybe not enough yarn of that weight at all, to make a scarf.  So I decided to make a cowl instead, but it would have to be multicolored.  So how would I make the already completed hat match?  A little stitching did the trick.

SONY DSCI also got a good start on cleaning out the basement.  I’ve spent about three hours down there so far, found a few treasures (kitty litter from way back when we had a cat — that’s being passed on to my friend who has cats — plus a diaper pail and other baby items for my niece who is pregnant), a lot of things to give away, a lot of things to throw away, and a few things that made me say, “Hey, I forgot we owned that!”  I hope to spend another chunk of time downstairs today.  It’s chilly and dark, but if I turn all the lights on and keep moving, it’s not too bad.

I’ve got two loaves of bread rising, so soon I’ll have the delightful smell of baking bread wafting through the house.

I even did a little bit of school work over break… but I’m happy to say that I didn’t have to do too much.  I mostly got to do my own thing these two and a half weeks.

I expect we’ll go back to school tomorrow.  Perhaps we’ll have a delay, but I am pretty sure we’ll be there.  Back to school and enriching young minds!  Wahoo!

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Cowl is beautiful.
    Good for you cleaning basement
    Our attic has areas to sort throuh.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

