RSS Feed

Improvements

For a while, the Hubs and I have been looking at land, thinking of someday moving out into the country where we have more space.  The problem is that it takes a lot of money to buy land, and build a house, and move.  I’ve been longing after properties I probably can’t have — at least, not for a very long time — and it has made me discontent.

So I resolved to change my focus.  Instead of looking toward property I don’t own, I am going to focus on improving the home I have.

First order of business: THE BASEMENT.

I hate our basement. It is cold and depressing.  There is no natural light.  It has on occasion gotten wet (when the snow melts and spring rains come, and when we had a sewage pipe get clogged and everything backed up into the basement.  Ugh.)  But I don’t want to hate the basement anymore.  I want to get it cleaned up and tidied.  I want to reorganize it, and move some things from our crowded upstairs closets into downstairs storage. I want to throw away things we don’t use.  Maybe I’ll give the whole thing a coat of cheerful paint.

I decided to spend one hour down there today, getting started on the cleaning up part.  I swept and cleaned up dryer lint that had flown around and covered everything like a fluffy blue-gray snow.  I threw out some things that had gotten damaged in water.  I tossed things that haven’t been used in years (and probably never will be), and I made a box of things to donate.

The bad news:  I think we may have a mold problem.  There is one wall I’ve been wondering about for several months, and the more I cleaned, the more I suspected that mold may be an issue.  I know that some cardboard boxes and items made of fabric certainly looked and/or smelled moldy.  I’m just not certain how serious the problem is.  I’m going to continue cleaning over the next couple of weeks or months (as often as I can get myself to spend time in the dreary basement) and in the meantime, look into finding someone who can evaluate any mold issues.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Mold, oh, no! This was on FB yesterday: http://www.slideshare.net/keithberndtson/mold-toxicity-syndrome-cirs, probably way too technical.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

