RSS Feed

Ready?

Image from Indiana Weather Online via Facebook

Well, the meteorologists are at it again.  They predict a whole bunch of snow in my neck of the woods.  It’s forecasted to start Saturday night and snow all day Sunday.  They speak of a blizzard, or at least blizzard-like conditions.

Courtesy Indiana Weather Online, via Facebook

They are also talking about really cold temperatures Monday and Tuesday.  The high for my area Monday is expected to be -6, and blowing snow is expected Sunday night into Monday.

Will I go back to school Monday as scheduled?  It’s looking iffy.

Seems to me, though, that meteorologists are getting very sensational about every weather event.  One guy on the news last night talked about “barbarically cold temperatures.”  Barbarically?  Really?  I agree that -13 (the forecasted low temperature for Sunday night) is Awfully Darn Cold.  Probably even Bitterly Cold.  But Barbarically?  I think someone was making use of his thesaurus before he went on the air.

But you know, as a lover of the English language, I applaud him for that, at least.

Anyway, there is a chance we might be stuck in for a while.  No worries, though.  We’re ready.

We’ve got plenty of firewood.  (This photo doesn’t show even half of the wood we have.)

SONY DSC

The fridge is stocked.

SONY DSC

If the power goes out, we’ve got candles.

SONY DSC

And if it stays on, we’ve got movies from the library.

SONY DSC

I think we’ll be plenty snug.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

