RSS Feed

The Call of the Country

 

SONY DSCI love where I live.  My neighbors are friendly, and I can walk all around town to take care of my errands.  The bank, library, post office, town office, Dollar General, dentist, park, and a couple of decent restaurants are all nearby.

Still, part of me is a country girl.  I’d love to be able to look up at the stars and not be distracted by street lights.  It would be nice to be out of earshot of the block parties thrown by the bar down the street.  I imagine it would be lovely to fall asleep at night without the serenade of a chorus of yappy dogs.

I think about having space to stretch out.  Land for a big garden.  Room for the dogs to play.

But change is hard, too.  I’m comfortable here.  Plus, moving would require a lot of money and a lot of work, and we don’t have much of either to spare these days.

So I try focus on now.  On keeping the home we have as nice as I can.  On putting money into the savings account each time I get paid.  And I block from my ears the call of the country.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

