RSS Feed

Crazy Eights: 24

1. I put the flannel sheets on the bed today.  We have so far refrained from turning on our furnace, and we’ve been heating with just the wood stove, but a few nights (after the fire went out), I woke up cold.  For a couple of nights, I just put an extra blanket on the bed (one that doesn’t really fit, but it did the trick for the time being), and Stephan suggested that we could turn on the furnace if I was too cold.  I declined and instead took off the regular sheets and put on the flannel ones.  I expect to be plenty cozy tonight.

2. You know that half marathon I was scheduled to run?  Well, I ended up running just the 10K.  My long runs proved to me that I was not ready to run thirteen miles.  It was freezing that day, and my toes were numb for the first three miles.  It was also very windy.  I don’t know if that’s why, but I ran really fast and finished in under an hour!  My official time was 57:49, which is definitely a personal record.  I also placed first in my age group and was the seventh woman finisher.  I’m pretty proud of that.

3. On the way to pick up my race packet the night before the race, this happened:

SONY DSCWe were pulling out of an alley and apparently were in the blind spot of a guy pulling out of his parking space on the side of the street, and CRUNCH went the cars.  We were told by our insurance company that the front door would have to be replaced, but the front fender and back door could be repaired.  But when the other insurance company looked at it (the accident was the other guy’s fault), the adjustor said the rear door would have to be replaced as well, and our 1999 VW Passat was not worth that much.  So, it’s totaled.  We got a check from the other guy’s insurance company, and we had already started saving up for a car, knowing that it is old, so we’re on the lookout for a replacement for old Suzie.  However, she is still drivable.  The only thing is that you have to slam the door to shut it, and even then it sounds like the window is open.  I can’t feel air coming in, though, so I’m not concerned about getting too cold this winter.  I could wait until spring for a new car… unless we find a really good deal on something in the meantime.

3. While Suzie was in the repair shop, I got to drive a rental:  a 2014 VW Jetta.  Man, that was nice.

4. I tried to create a “bird yard” on the north side of the house.  In the past, I’ve had all my bird feeders on the west side, which is the front of the house.  However, I can’t watch the birds from there in the winter.  There is a screened porch, but I don’t like to sit out there when it’s cold.  But the birds didn’t seem to like the north side of the house, so I moved all the feeders to the west again.  Little brown birds have been gluttonous and all the cracked corn is gone, but I can’t seem to attract any finches to my finch feeders.  I know there are finches around here; I’ve seen them at the park.  But they haven’t found my house yet.  When I had the feeders on the north side, my suet feeder went missing and I’m pretty sure a raccoon took off with it.  I spied it on the roof today, though, so I’ll have to climb up there soon to retrieve it.

5. I did my Christmas shopping today.  I hate shopping in stores, so I am thankful for internet shopping.  I ordered all of Stephan’s gifts today, plus some yarn for myself, all from the comfort of my cozy blue recliner.

6. My school is doing a “Secret Buddy” thing this year.  I decided to join in.  We haven’t been matched up yet — that comes Monday, I think — but I’m kind of excited.  This could be fun.  We’re supposed to give one gift or card per month from now until April or May.  I have a list of ideas, but I’ll have to wait and see what my person likes and whether it’s a man or a woman.  There aren’t many men at my school, and I don’t know how many of them will sign up for Secret Buddies, but I know at least one did.  And if I got a guy, it would change the kinds of things I’d give.

7. Two and a half weeks remain until Thanksgiving Break.  That doesn’t seem very long, so that’s good.  I pretty much have my basic lessons planned out from now until then; unfortunately, I suspect I’ll have to spend part of my break planning for those weeks between Thanksgiving and Christmas.  I’ll be doing poetry with the 8th graders during December, but I’m not sure yet what I’ll do with 7th grade.  We will have just finished reading The Outsiders, so maybe we’ll do some writing assignments and/or a project based on that novel.

8. It’s officially Stephan’s busy season.  I try to keep a good attitude during the winter, but it’s hard sometimes.  I get lonesome and overwhelmed, because he isn’t home much to help out with things.  I tend to live on Ramen noodles and egg sandwiches when he’s gone.  I’ll try at least to get more fruit and vegetables in my diet this winter.  Gotta avoid scurvy, you know.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

4 responses »

  1. I just TODAY figured out that your blog wasn’t updating in my blog feeder now that it’s private. I’ll bet you thought, “here I give her permission to read & she just disappears!” Sorry about that.

    I’ve just spent some time catching up. I like your earliest memory. It almost feels like a preface to a book about the third daughter…

    We used to get a LOT of finches when that was the only feeder we had. When we added the other feeders (which get swarmed by sparrows) the finches went away. We experimented with different locations for the finch feeder – keeping it away from the other one – & finally found one that sort of works. They still don’t come as often as they did, but we at least get to see them sometimes.

    Yay you for your PR! Good job!

    I just got a new Ford Fusion (2012) a couple of months ago. My 2002 Saturn was just costing too much money – & then the air conditioner stopped working. I’m pretty happy with the new car.

    Well, I won’t leave a whole novel here – I’ll try to remember to check your blog more often 🙂

    P.S. In a coincidence my blog post today was 8 miscellaneous things about me (from a Facebook meme). Ha!

    Reply
    • Yes, I wondered if it would still update in blog feeders. I suspected not. I had to make it private because some of my students were reading it and I sometimes post stuff about them on it!

      Reply
  2. So that’s why I haven’t seen your posts in a while!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

