RSS Feed

Last Saturday’s Run

Saturday was a miserable day for running.  It was cold, and it was raining.  A terrible combination.  The only  worse running weather is sleet.  A ten-miler was on the schedule, but with this weather, I decided eight would do.

At first, it wasn’t so bad.  But about four miles in, the wind blew frigidly in my face.  My mood plummeted.  Two more miles, and I thought that if a scary stranger pulled up in his car and offered me candy and a ride, I’d be sorely tempted to accept.  I was tired, and my desire to walk was warring with my longing to be in a warm house as soon as possible.  At mile seven — nose dripping, shoes splorshing, hip flexors complaining, and breath fogging, all I wanted was to be home.

Finally, I finished the last mile and burst through the door of my abode.  My hands were cold.  My gloves and shirt were soaked.  But finally it was complete, and I heard a hot shower calling my name.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

