RSS Feed

Recently Read Books

Here’s a brief update on what I’ve been reading lately.

Anna Karenina. Leo Tolstoy.   It took me a mere ten months to get through this book, and the only reason I stuck with it (this was my third try) is because Stephan loves this book.  I think I might enjoy better an abridged version that leaves out all the Russian politics.  This was not an easy or enjoyable read for me.

The Invention of Hugo Cabret.  Brian Selznick.  This book was recommended to me by one of my students.  Selznick is an illustrator, and this very thick book has scores of original drawings.  The story is good, too, but this is an especially nice book for those who appreciate art.

Splendors and Glooms.  Laura Amy Schlitz.  An historical novel with a touch of fantasy thrown in, this book deals with marionettes and puppet shows, a sinister puppeteer, two orphaned urchins, a kidnapped aristocratic little girl, and a domineering old woman who controls her servants with the same magic she is trying to rid herself of.

Flygirl. Sherri L. Smith.  Another historical novel, this time set during World War II, this young adult novel focuses on a young, light-skinned black woman who longs to fly an airplane.  Passing for white, she enrolls as a WASP (Women’s Airforce Service Pilot).  The reading level and interest level is probably upper elementary, lower middle school, but I found it interesting that the main character is not as young as the book’s likely readers as is often the case.  Ida Mae is in her early adulthood, but the story educates young readers about what the WASPs did, and about racism in the United States and the armed forces during that time period.

 

What books are you reading lately?  Do you have any suggestions for me?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I would highly recommend David Platt’s “Radical.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

