RSS Feed

Goals in Writing

I teach an enrichment class which changes monthly.  This month, I’m teaching a class called “Young Authors,” with the intent that students who signed up would write something to enter in the local Young Authors competition which occurs in April.

Today was the first day of that class.  I asked them to write a paragraph — in their best writing — telling why they chose this class and what they hope to get out of it.  I did the same assignment.  Here is what I wrote.

Writing is part of who I am.  It is part of who I was created to be.  When I don’t write, I feel trapped, boxed-in, grouchy.  Writing, for me, is a release.  Some people need to draw or sculpt or sing or dance or play and instrument.  To be completely me, I need to write.  It is a way that I grow more into who I am meant to be.

I think there are other people like me — probably some of you feel similarly.  That’s why I wanted to teach a Young Authors class.  I wanted to give you time to write.  After school you have sports practice and homework.  On weekends you have tournaments and family commitments.  Do you have time to just write, to create, to develop into who you were created to be?  If I give you one hour a day for one month to help you hone your craft, maybe you will be on your way to being a great writer, and therefore a better person.

I want this class to give you wings on your fingers so that you write beautifully.  Callouses, too, because writing is hard work.  But it is good.  And when you create, you know better who you are.

I want to write more, too, and I need time when I am not grading papers or planning lessons or sitting in meetings.  I want an hour a day to write and to talk about writing.  I want you to improve, but I’m a little selfish.  I want to get better, too.

Let’s help each other.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. What a great idea! I used to write (bad) poetry when I was in the 7th & 8th grades – it would have been so much fun to have a class just dedicated to writing!

    Reply
  2. Would love to see/hear/read your students response to this beautifully stated aspiration.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

