RSS Feed

Thursday.

It was not a good day.

Already feeling behind when I walked into my classroom makes for a bad start.  Unprepared students with a host of excuses piled frustration higher.  A terribly planned, waste-of-time convocation took away part of my instructional time and added to my irritation.  Then an end-of-the-day email notifying me that testing would eat into yet another class period (despite my best efforts to avoid that) brought me to my growling point.

By the end of the school day, it looked like a tree exploded on my desk, leaving the debris of a hundred sheets of paper scattered everywhere.  Resources for upcoming lessons.  Parent-teacher conference forms.  Seating charts.  To-do lists.  Rubrics.  I made myself stay after school until my workspace was at least tidy.

I brought grading home, but I was too aggravated to work on it.  Lessons weren’t fully planned for the next day, but I couldn’t muster the brain power to think about it.  Even figuring out what to make for dinner taxed my intellectual resources and left me defrosting meat int he microwave while I stared blankly at the cookbook, silently begging Betty Crocker for inspiration.

I snapped at my husband, without meaning to or even realizing I’d done it.  So he got frustrated with me.

At least he took over dinner preparation.

I kicked off my shoes, flopped onto the couch, lamented the filthy state of my house, and sighed.

The day was not a good one.

I am embarrassed by the state of my home.  A thorough cleaning occurred here sometime in the last year, I think, but I can’t be more specific.  Dog fuzz collects in the corners and dust blankets the furniture.  I hate it.  But I have no energy.

Then, into the living room came my Darlin’, bearing pecan-encrusted pollack and sauteed vegetables, with a banana-peach smoothie.

The love of a good man and a full belly improved my outlook.

Still, it was not a good day, and I could only hope the next day would be better.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. I just can’t even imagine being a teacher. One of the things I love about my job is that when it’s time to go home I can leave it all behind. And in fact, I’m not even the person who has to worry about stuff – that’s my boss’s job. Sometimes it’s nice being a peon!

    That said, my house is in a pretty bad state too. It’s just not a priority for me (or my husband). And I have to say that your dinner sounds fabulous. Hope today was better.

    Reply
  2. Teachers need our support and prayer DAILY.
    There will always be bad days and good ones, but in the big picture what you are accomplishing is part of Kingdom work, far more significant than maintaining a spotless house. Love you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

