RSS Feed

The need for a quiet space

I can’t remember when was the last time that I sat down to really, truly write.  Sure, I’ve posted some things on this blog now and then, but they tend to be quick and without enough thought and completely void of any revision.  They have been just my thoughts spilling onto a keyboard, but not honed or polished.  Not real writing.

A friend visited us this week.  He’s an artist, and in India he has a ministry using art to help people connect with the Creator.  God is the original artist, and we are made in his image, so we are made to be creators, too.  Being creative shows us our value, makes us feel our worth, and connects us with God.  Even the most destitute individuals, when they allow themselves to create through art, begin to lift their heads and their eyes.

When talking with our friend as we sat in our living room, he sipping Sweet Dreams tea and I struggling to stay awake far past my bedtime, we began discussing the real need to create.  We need to have a quiet space in which we can create and connect with our Creator.  And that is something I have been sorely lacking.  Life is busy.  Weekdays are filled with school and having people over for Monday Night Dinners and church on Wednesdays and training for my half marathon.  Weekends are jammed with running errands, cleaning the house, grooming the dogs, cleaning the rabbit cages, planning the next week’s lessons, and church on Sundays.  Even during my prayer times, I find that my mind cannot rest.  I start thinking about my lessons or students or all the chores I need to do.

SONY DSC

I’ve lost my quiet space.  I’ve sacrificed my time to create for the busyness of life.  But how do I fix it?  I can’t neglect my responsibilities.  My job almost never leaves my mind, and I must work a lot in order to keep caught up.  Even when my Mr. Wonderful is home and not terribly busy with work, we manage to get behind in chores — dirty dishes stack up, clean laundry waits to be folded, and the dogs beg to go for a walk.  How do I make the time?

Maybe I do what I’m doing right now — put aside my lesson plan book, move away from the television, and let the shirts and towels sit in the laundry basket.  Maybe I just sit and write.  Maybe I try to thrust aside the nagging voice that tells me what I should be doing and instead listen to what my soul needs.  Maybe I stay up a little past the time I’d normally go to bed, or maybe I make a chunk of each Saturday priority writing time.

After the conversation with our friend, I realize how out of sorts I am when I don’t create as often as my spirit needs.  I need to connect with my Creator, so I need to figure out a way to make being creative a priority.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. I completely understand what you’re saying! Thank you for sharing. ~Blessings~

    Reply

Leave a Reply

