RSS Feed

A Saturday in the Life

I slept in this morning, getting up just after 7:00.  It was luxurious.  I let out the dogs, put food and water in their bowl, and went to the garage to feed and water the rabbits.  I let the dogs back in and returned to the living room for a prayer time, where I took friends, family, missionaries, and my job and students to the Throne.  I admit, though, I was distracted.  I couldn’t stop my mind from wandering to my lesson plans and my students.

I changed clothes and went for a six-mile run, part of my preparation for the half-marathon I’ll run in October.  I took the loop backward from my usual habit, and it made it feel shorter.  I don’t understand that, but I liked it.  In between footfalls and drinks of Gatorade, I thanked God for the beautiful morning and my ability to run, and thought about school.  I considered my new vocabulary program, the social studies teacher I collaborate with, and technology I might use.

I arrived back home after a little over an hour, took a shower, and got ready for the day.  My amazing husband made me a delightful breakfast (fried eggs with tomatoes and basil and a side of my mom’s homemade applesauce, plus a cup of Gem Forest Coffee), which I enjoyed while I looked through my vocabulary books and my scope & sequence and tried to figure out what literature I’m going to teach this week since I don’t have all the technology set up that I need and I have a bunch of pre-tests to give to my students in order to determine their readiness levels.

Then I emailed the school’s technology coordinator because the grades I’d entered in the electronic gradebook weren’t showing up (he fixed it) and to ask him questions about stuff the last tech coordinator had promised (he’s figuring it out.)  I graded about a hundred paragraphs that I am using as a pre-assessment of writing for my students.  I tried to figure out how to differentiate as many of my lessons as possible in order to reach each student at his or her own level.  I wrote out my lesson plans for the week and submitted them to my administrators.

By this time, I was hungry again and my amazing husband once again cooked for me, preparing a venison and vegetable curry which was delicious but entirely too spicy to have seconds.  This time I didn’t work while eating.

I looked through my new vocabulary workbooks, loaded the Unit 1, Part 1 post-test for each grade (7th and 8th) onto Edmodo (it’s like Facebook for school) so that my students can take the quiz and get immediate feedback all without me having to grade individual papers.  (Plus, it gives me data that I can use for all the data-influenced instruction I’m supposed to be doing.)

Finally, I took a break.  I checked out Facebook, read a couple of blogs, and made some yogurt.

I want to write more, want to knit more.  I need to clean my house.  But school has taken over my brain.  And my life.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

