RSS Feed

Homemade Yogurt

Posted on

A friend recently gave me her recipe for homemade yogurt.

SONY DSCIt’s quite good, if you like plain yogurt.  (I’m sure you could sweeten it as it cooks, but we just eat it with honey (as shown in the photo) or maple syrup or raspberry sauce, so I don’t need to sweeten it ahead of time.  Plus, we like the tangy flavor of the plain yogurt.)

Heat 4 cups of milk until almost boiling (about 175 – 180 degrees Fahrenheit.)

Remove from heat and cool until milk is about 115 – 120 degrees Fahrenheit.

Whisk in two teaspoons of yogurt.  (Yes, you must have some yogurt to begin with in order to make yogurt.)  You may also need to skim off some of the skin that formed while the milk cooled.  At this point, I pour the mixture from the saucepan I heated it in to a glass bowl.

Cover with plastic wrap, wrap the bowl in a towel, and place it all in the oven with the light on.  (The oven does not need to be on — just the light.)  Leave the yogurt there for 8 to 12 hours.

Stephan thinks this is a little less firm than store-bought yogurt.  One person suggested adding more yogurt when making it, and another said she adds dry milk to make it more firm.

 

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. The light in the oven may not be keeping the oven warm enough to set up the yogurt sufficiently. One friend puts her yogurt “mix” in a large thermos and wraps that in a heavy towel. Another puts hers in large Mason jars and sets them in a cooler which she then fills with hot water. The trick, from what I understand, is keeping the temperature steadily warm enough overnight. I gave myself a yogurt maker several years ago for my birthday 🙂 Trial and error helped me figure out I needed to let it run for at least 12 hours for the yogurt to set up properly.
    I’ve also started straining my yogurt in several layers of cheesecloth so the extra liquid drains off and I’m left with a nice, thick Greek-style yogurt. I’ve used yogurt interchangeably in recipes for sour cream for years, but this consistency works much better than regular yogurt.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

