RSS Feed

A Very Busy Wednesday

Posted on

Stephan’s out of town this week, which always puts me a little out of sorts.  I was just getting used to him being gone in the winter (what with being swamped with work at Christmas and New Year’s, and then traveling for competitions), but being on my own in the summer is new since he’s usually not very busy this time of year.  But he’s been doing a lot of sand sculpture, mostly in Ohio, so here I go again on my own. (Going down the only road I’ve ever known!  Like a drifter I was born to walk alone… So I’ve made up my mind.  I ain’t wastin’ no more time!  Thank you very much, Whitesnake.)

(In case you weren’t aware, Stephan and I live a musical life.  We often break into song — often they are songs from the ’80’s.  Fear not, though — we don’t recreate the hairstyles from the same time period.)

Anyway, after kind of wandering around all day yesterday, unsure what to do with myself, I got busy today!

I put a load of laundry in the washer and hung it on the line.

SONY DSC

(It still needs to be folded and put away.)

I baked two loaves of banana bread (now in the freezer) and four loaves of honey whole wheat bread.  (Three for us, and one to give away.)

SONY DSC

While I waited for the bread to rise, I cleaned out the freezer.  What a mess!  I can’t recall the last time it was cleaned out.  I moved several things to the deep freeze in the garage to make more space, threw out a few things I could not recognize, wiped out some gross frozen goo from the bottom of the freezer, and organized what was left.

While the bread baked, I tried to make a “work-out top” based on this blog post, but I didn’t have much luck.  I think the shirt I was trying to use was too big.  So, since I had fourteen old tee-shirts to use up (most of them Stephan’s but a couple of them mine), I tried another craft I had found on Pinterest:  tee-shirt yarn.  This craft worked much better.  And I didn’t have to worry about the size of the shirt or the fact that many of them were stained.  I made five balls of yarn and have gotten a start on the other nine shirts.  (I’m thinking of making a rug with the yarn.)

SONY DSCMy hand gets tired cutting through all that material though (and I think I’m dulling my scissors a bit), so I needed to take a break.  So I made myself a sandwich for lunch (with fresh homemade bread, a fried egg, fresh basil, avocado, horseradish, and spinach) and watched the last episode of the first season of Call the Midwife.

SONY DSC

Now it’s time to think about what I’m taking to the carry-in supper at church tonight, and maybe make some more tee-shirt yarn.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

3 responses »

  1. Have you considered using a rotary cutter? Wondering if you could put a small cutting mat on ironing board so you could slide t-shirt over board and just keep circling the shirt around as you make a continuous cut. It might not work, but it is worth a try 🙂

    Reply
  2. Pingback: My T-shirt Yarn Rug | oldfangled

Leave a Reply

