RSS Feed

Lazy, carefree summer

Posted on

Can someone tell me what happened to the lazy, carefree summer?  Because I haven’t had one this year!

I feel like I’ve been going non-stop since school let out.  I’m not sure I can tell you what I’ve been doing, but I know I’ve been very busy!

Painting our kitchen cabinets has been one project.

SONY DSC

When that was done, we took down the wallpaper in the kitchen and dining room, and Stephan prepped the walls and started painting.

SONY DSC

We’re also having our house exterior painted.

SONY DSC

Stephan and I chose a lovely font for our new house numbers, which are much bigger than the old ones.  You can actually see them from the road now!  He made a template and painted them out front.

SONY DSC

I went out to the community garden a couple of times.  Grass is taking over the plots, unfortunately, but we’re still getting squashes and tomatoes and lots of greens.

I’ve been working on school stuff a bit, and I’ll probably be doing more of that as the start of school nears.  (I have teacher days on August 12 and 13, and students start on August 14.)

We went camping in Michigan with friends and family.

I ran a four mile race and finished knitting an afghan.  (Not simultaneously.)

I’ll attend a conference this month about using technology in teaching.  (I’m not sure how much I actually care about the information in this conference, but it should give me points toward renewing my license, so I’m doing it.  And hopefully I’ll learn something in the process as well.)

We’ve had several of Stephan’s college friends come to visit us, and we have more coming in a couple of weeks.

We might go camping one more time, and maybe we’ll go to the State Fair in August.

So that’s why it hasn’t been lazy and carefree.  We’ve had lots going on!  Still, I’m enjoying my summer.  Are you enjoying yours?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Sounds like retirement when life gets busier 😉
    Would love to go to the State Fair with you all.
    Since spring Diane has been asking when we’re going 😉
    Looking forward to seeing all the home improvements tonight!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

