RSS Feed

Rest in Peace, Little Bunnies

Posted on

Last week, three of our one-month-old bunnies died.

After the first one, I had started to write a little poem — an ode to the little gray rabbit.  But then two mornings later, two more were looking really lethargic and sickly, and by that evening one of them was dead.  The following morning, one looked absolutely terrible.  We put it outside to tempt it with grass to eat, and gave it a nice fresh cabbage leaf and some water.  It seemed to perk up, but by afternoon, it was dead as well.

We’re not sure why they died.  Maybe it was too hot for them, but two of their siblings are still alive and healthy in the same weather conditions.  Plus, I tried to be sure they had plenty of water and a frozen water bottle to lean against on the hotter days.  I just don’t know.

So, only two of this litter are surviving.

We were thinking of breeding Tiny this month, but now we’re considering waiting a couple of months until the weather is cooler, just in case that was the culprit.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Yup, might be the heat. We were always told to avoid breeding much past mid March. I’d wait until September to breed again, but of course, YMMV.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

