RSS Feed

New kinds of pie

Posted on

For our anniversary, Stephan and I went to a tiny tourist town about an hour and a half south of where we live.  While we were there, we came across a book of pie recipes.  Since we love pie, we couldn’t help but look at it, and when we found some truly unusual recipes inside, we decided to buy it.

Monday, we chose two pies to make:  Lemon Pie and Zucchini Peach Pie.

The first photo is of the Zucchini Peach Pie, which was such a strange combination we just had to try it.  The recipe also called for raisins, which sounded weird, but then the whole thing sounded weird so why not add raisins?  Stephan really liked this pie, but I thought it was tooooo sweet.  It did have an interesting combination of soft and crisp (the zucchini was kind of crisp and the peaches were soft.  Some of our friends thought the raisins should have been rehydrated before being added to the pie because the variation in textures was too much.

SONY DSC

Here is the Lemon Pie:

SONY DSCNote that this isn’t lemon custard — it has actual slices of lemon in it, plus lots of lemon zest.  I love sour things, and I always eat my lemon garnish at a restaurant, so I thought I would love this pie.  All the pith from the lemons gave the pie a bitter aftertaste, though.  Stephan tried this pie again on Wednesday and tweaked the recipe so that now it is amazing and may be my new favorite pie.

I won’t post recipes because I fear I’d be violating copyright laws, but perhaps with a fair bit of Googling, you could find some similar recipes yourself.  The book we found them in is called Old Fashioned Pie Recipes from Bear Wallow Books.

And as I have committed to try one new thing each week this summer, these two pies meet my quota for New Thing of the Week!

 

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Those pies look delicious!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

