RSS Feed

A nice little run

Posted on

Friday after work, it was sunny and just a little bit cool, so it was a perfect afternoon for a run.  I was kind of tired — I’d been on my feet pretty much all day for the last several days — so I decided to go just two miles, with the option of making it three if I started to feel spunky.

I ran south, then east, then north, and stopped by the house of some new friends who have kittens!  I hadn’t met the kittens yet and wanted to, so I made a point to run by their house.  I stopped there for a bit, held and petted Junebug and Silverstein, chatted for a bit with the teenaged boys about having just finished school, and then took off again.

Farther north, then west, and I thought I’d stop by the community garden.  Everything is popping up!  Beans and squash and beets and lettuce — everything.  I pulled just a few weeds and bits of grass and left to complete my run.  (The spunk never kicked in, so I didn’t add the third mile.)

Around the curve and north down the street to the main road, then west again, across the river, and a few turns through the neighborhood to get me back home where my neighbor was mowing his grass and children were playing in the church playground a block away.  School’s out in my town, so in the minds of many residents, summer is truly here.

I still think of it as spring, but it’s a beautiful spring in a sweet small town.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. I saw your blog on your bunion surgery. How is your running now? I am nine months post op. I started thing to run a bit around six months. In the 7th month I had a big set back. I was only running three miles a couple times a week. I am back in physical therapy. They tell me it just takes time. But how much? I have pain most days when I walk about level 2 to 3. I used to do ironman triathlon. I just want to be back to where I was! I was the perfect patient. I did everything they told me to. What has been your experience? Thanks

    Reply
    • I’m sorry you are having such a hard time! It’s been nearly 3 years so my memory is a little fuzzy, but I’m pretty sure that by 7 months post-op, my activities were back to normal. I had started to run a little by about 12 weeks post-op. I never went to physical therapy. It sounds like our experiences are totally different, but I know there are several different types of bunion surgery, too, so I don’t know if that makes a difference. If you click on the “bunions” category tag, you can read all my posts about my experience. I hope things get better for you soon!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

