RSS Feed

Three weeks to go

Posted on

There are 14 days of school left, and boy can you feel it in the air!

The students are amped up, but have no motivation to do any schoolwork.  The teachers are tired and irritable and frustrated and confused and grouchy.  They are tired because this year, with all the new rules about documenting everything we do — lesson plans with state standards marked, measures taken to help struggling learners, each and every time a parent contact was made — has worn them all out.  They are irritable because of the lack of motivation from the students.  They are frustrated because it sometimes seems that no one’s looking at all the documentation that’s being done, and because when the documentation is there for things like student discipline, it seems that the administration isn’t backing up the teachers but kowtowing to the parents who are bullying them.  They are confused because there is talk of altering our schedule next year, but it’s not all worked out yet and the administration doesn’t seem to be able to explain how it will affect everyone; additionally, we know there will be changes in teaching assignments which haven’t been publicized yet, and even though it’s mid-May, we still don’t have an approved calendar for next year.  And they are grouchy because all of these things piled on top of each other is hard to deal with.

I fall into many of those categories myself, though I am trying not to get trapped in the quagmire of complaints.

With all that going on, plus figuring out what I can squeeze in or stretch to fill the last couple of weeks of classes and writing a comprehensive final exam, I am behind at home.  The house needs to be cleaned and the flower garden needs to be weeded and if I’m going to run a half marathon this fall, I maybe should get moving on ramping up my running.  I also have a knitting project that I would really like to finish soon, though I haven’t worked on it in three weeks.  And I’ve gotten terribly behind on blogging, too.

Summer vacation starts at 3:00 pm on May 31 (if I have all my grades in at that point — and I plan to!)  Then, I hope to relax and clean and work on projects and go on adventures and try new recipes and tackle new crafts and visit friends and… oh, so many other things!  I will probably spend a good part of the summer working on next school year, as well, and some moments I feel excited about that and some moments I don’t.  But I hope it will be a fun summer.

In the meantime, I have to make it through 14 more days.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

Leave a Reply

