RSS Feed

Mixed Signals

Posted on

100_1171

Licorice, honey, you’re making me crazy.

Last time we bred you, you didn’t act pregnant at all.  You didn’t eat or drink any more than usual, and you gave no other signs that you were expecting.  So I didn’t put a nest box in your cage.  And then you went and had babies, which all died because they got too cold because I didn’t put in a nest box.

So I learned my lesson.  I’ll put in a nest box every time you’re due to have babies, whether I think you’re pregnant or not.

We bred you again.  You started eating like crazy.  “Ah ha!” I thought to myself.  “She’s surely pregnant this time!”  I put the nest box in your cage, and you started getting it all ready — you tore up the newspaper I put in for you, and you pulled out your fur to make it all warm and cozy for the babies.  But did you fool me again?  You were due on Tuesday, and you still haven’t kindled.  And for a rabbit to be four days late would be like a human going five and a half weeks overdue.  So that seems unlikely.  Plus, the last week or so, you’ve hardly eaten at all, and you took all the newspaper and fur back out of the nest box.  What are you doing, girl?

I was about to pull your nest box out again.  And then today, Stephan saw that you were starting to pull your fur again.  You put up a big fuss when he opened your cage and stuck his hand in there.  Those sound like pregnancy signs.

So are you pregnant?  Or are you just messing with me?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Question answered! She kindled today!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

