RSS Feed

Decision Made.

Posted on

About a month ago, the high school where I volunteered and substitute taught last year, posted a position for an English teacher.  I applied, and waited.

About a week and a half ago, the school called me for an interview, so I scheduled one.

And then I had a big decision to make: whether to go through with the interview or not.

On one side, the high school is walking distance from my house, is in a corporation that is super-organized, and where all the teachers were very friendly and welcoming.

On the other side, that school had the opportunity to hire me last year as a full time English teacher, and didn’t.  And the school where I work now has some positives… like the fact that it’s middle school (my favorite age to teach), and that it’s small (which means that I can collaborate with the science and social studies teachers a lot).

So I had two good possibilities.  What would be the harm in going to the interview and just checking out what they had to offer?

The harm was in my mental status.  I was worrying over a decision that wasn’t mine to make yet.  And I was worrying about being rejected again.  What it came down to was that I felt I needed a decision to be made, and this time I wanted to be the one to do it.

I prayed a lot and talked a lot to people I trust.  Stephan’s main concern was whether (what with budget issues at my current school) I would still have a position next year.  So I just went to my principal and told her, “I have an opportunity to interview at another school, but I’m not sure I want to do it.  But I need to know whether there is any uncertainty about my being here next year.”

She said, “There is no uncertainty whatsoever.  I think you’re a phenomenal teacher.  I need you in the middle school.”

So that settled that.  I called the next day and canceled my interview.

And I feel pretty good about it.  I don’t have to start all over next year with new classes.  I get to teach again some things I taught this year.  There will be a lot of tweaking and adjusting and changing, but at least I’ll have a good solid start.  I’ll know my co-workers and have plans in place of how to work with them.  I’ll have my seventh graders again next year as eighth graders, so they’ll already know what I expect and they’ll be mostly trained.

What it really came down to was that I think God wants me where I am.  There were too many coincidences in getting me there, too many things that should have happened (from my perspective) that didn’t and things that shouldn’t have happened that did.  So I’m sticking it out here until he moves me elsewhere.

I think it will be good.

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. So glad for you, Karen! May the Lord bless you and use you to His honor and glory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

