RSS Feed

Maybe Jesus gets thirsty…

Posted on

I was mowing the grass on Saturday, and I saw a guy walk from the church next to our house, past my yard toward downtown.  We smiled and said hi.

On his way back, he stopped me.  I turned off the mower, and the man said, “You look like you could use a break.”  He handed me a bottle of some sort of fruit punch.  “This is from Jesus, my best friend.”

“Well, thanks!” I said, taking the bottle.  “He’s my best friend, too.”

Then the man went on and on about some 88-year-old uncle he has who owns a tire store and it’s famous now because the uncle has tithed the income for all the years he’s owned the business.  I smiled and nodded, wished him a good day, and he left.

Then I took a look at the bottle.  It had been opened, and it was no longer full.

I guess Jesus needed some fruit punch?

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

One response »

  1. Ewwwwwww!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

