RSS Feed

Tiny & Feisty

Posted on

There are just five rabbits left: Licorice (the doe), Bear (the buck), and three of their offspring.  We’ve been trying to determine for quite a while the genders of the young rabbits.  They are about four and a half months old now, and it’s still hard to tell, but Stephan thinks he’s got it figured out.  He says he’s pretty sure there is one doe and two bucks.  The doe is one we had previously dubbed Tiny, because she was always the very smallest of the bunch.  One of the bucks is the one we’d inadvertently named Feisty because he was the largest, the first one out of the nest box, and the one who would climb all over his siblings all the time.  The other buck doesn’t have a name… eventually we’ll probably call him Stew.

I tried to breed Bear and Licorice last month, and again it didn’t take.  I didn’t even bother to put the nest box in her cage this time; I could tell by the fact that her appetite had not increased that she was not pregnant.   So Stephan put her in with Bear again today to try again.  If it works, she’ll be due at the end of April.

Tiny and Feisty are still too young to breed; they need to be six to eight months old.  Maybe we’ll try them in May.

(I was going to post photos of the rabbits, but I had to get a new memory card for my camera, and now my computer won’t install the driver for the memory card.  *sigh*)

About Karen Koch

I like the old-fashioned lifestyle. All this new-fangled stuff baffles me sometimes. I cherish living out in the country, raising chickens and rabbits, planting fruit trees, and enjoying a slow life filled with beautiful words and ideas. I don't always achieve a slow life. I teach middle school English and manage a little burgeoning farm with my husband, and somewhere in the midst of that, I try to find time for writing, running, knitting, reading, and playing the ukulele. And sometimes, I actually succeed.

2 responses »

  1. Is that CALL him Stew, or make him into stew :>)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

